Hen&inkblots: A Literary Blog

It’s Party Time! Zoom in and Celebrate HOUND WON’T GO & CAT DOG DOG on May 6th with The Writing Barn, Book People, Austin Pets Alive & The Booking Biz

May 2, 2020 by Erzsi Deak

The Writing Barn and Book People Present Virtual
Book Launch & Pet Party
to Benefit Covid-19 Relief Efforts
& Pet Rescue

BOOK DOG DOG

Date: Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Time: 1:00pm EDT, 12:00pm CDT, 10:00am PDT, 7:00pm CET, 2:00am JST

Register here.

What’s better than one virtual book party? TWO-IN-ONE!

Please join us for a cyber book party in real time, online, from the comfort of your home. Gather round to celebrate connection, storytime, small businesses, and everyone’s best friends: dog & cat.

The first 5 attendees to order CAT DOG DOG from Book People prior to
May 6th receive the original and limited-edition poster,
WE ARE ALL ONE BIG (BLENDED) FAMILY,
by Andrea Zuill.

This poster will be available for sale after the event.
A portion of the proceeds of this limited-edition poster will benefit COVID-19 relief efforts and Austin Pets Alive.

A representative from Austin Pets Alive will speak about what we can do for our pets and tips for families considering adopting or fostering
a quarantine pup or kitten.

Kids are invited to send in their drawing of their pets or one of the books’ characters to: info@thewritingbarn.com.
Feel free to share the masterpieces on social media with #catdogdog so we can find them!

For additional fun, print out and bring your CAT DOG DOG finger puppets to the party. www.nellybuchet.com/swag

Everyone is Welcome!


Presentations:

Cat Dog Dog: The Story of a Blended Family by Nelly Buchet and Andrea Zuill:  Order here

Hound Won’t Go by Lisa Rogers and Meg Ishihara: Order here

While this is a FREE event, attendees are encouraged to order copies from our partnering indie bookstore, Book People (a member of bookshop.org), online and to peruse the many online The Writing Barn offerings for writers of all ages.


Other Fun Stuff for Kids & Their Adults!

GIVEAWAY! WIN A STORYTIME WITH AUTHOR NELLY BUCHET
Share a photo of your reader(s) with a copy of CAT DOG DOG (pets are optional) on social media with #catdogdog by May 30th and become eligible to win a Zoom or Skype Storytime with CAT DOG DOG author Nelly Buchet.

Free download: CAT DOG DOG finger puppets coloring sheets, and Common Core State Standards-aligned discussion/activity guide for
grades PK-2. www.nellybuchet.com

GIVEAWAYS! WIN A PICTURE BOOK CRITIQUE WITH AUTHOR LISA ROGERS
Share a photo of your reader with a copy of HOUND WON’T GO on social media with #houndwontgo by May 30th and become eligible to win a picture book critique with Lisa Rogers or a signed copy of 16 WORDS: WILLIAM CARLOS WILLIAMS AND THE “RED WHEELBARROW.”

Free download: HOUND WON’T GO activity kit and stickers. www.lisarogerswrites.com

Joy is only a page turn away! Woof!

 

Special Thanks to Carmen Oliver @thebookingbiz and to Lorena Proia @Phebenme for their expertise, generosity, and just general awesomeness.